Department of Politicial Science

Welcome to the Department of Political Science. It was founded in 1958 when the college was established. The Department has six faculty members. Both B.A. Pass and Honours Courses are offered under Manipur University. The papers taught are Political Theory (1st Semester), Western Political Thought (Second Semester), Indian Government and Politics (Third Semester), Comparative Government and Politics (Fourth Semester) Fifth Semester- International Politics, Socialist Thought and Public Administration and Sixth Semester- Government and Politics in North East India, Gandhian Studies and Indian Political Thought.

 Faculty Members:
S. Sobita Devi, Associate Professor and Head, Contact No. :  9436027481

Sl. No.
Name and Designation
Educational Qualification
Teaching Experience
S. Sobita Devi

Associate Professor and Head

Development Administration


35 years
Dr. S. Sanatomba Singh

Associate Professor

M.A. Ph.D.

Politics and Political Thought

29 years
Dr. Th.Arke Singh

Associate Professor

M. A. Ph.D.
Public Administration
27 years
Dr. E. Girani Singh

Assistant Professor

M.A. Ph.D.
Western Political Thought
19 years
Dr. G. Anulata

Assistant Professor

M.A. Ph.D.
Gandhian Thought
18 years


Activities of the Department:
The Departments of Political Science and Economics in collaboration with Department of Economics, Manipur University organised a Two Day National Seminar on “Present Conditions of Political Economy of States in North East India” 2-3 March 2012 sponsored by UGC. Dr. N. Somorendro Singh, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science was the Organising Secretary of the Seminar.
The Department is planning to open P.G. Course in the future.